Yesterday I got angry…

…and it felt good.  From the start of this illness, I’ve been mostly compliant, waiting for it to go whilst I go about my usual life. But the realisation a week or so ago that I would have to change my lifestyle to accommodate this ‘illness’ annoyed me.  Which is dumb, because accommodating this illness will make me feel better.  But I still just want it to go away.

I’ve thrashed about trying all sorts of things, I’ve lowered the dose of the anti inflammatory’s so I don’t have a bad taste in my mouth anymore.  Some pain has returned but I prefer pain to fatigue and it’s not as bad as it was a month ago.  I’ve cut down alcohol to barely a glass a week but that’s mainly because it just damn well makes you feel tireder.  I thought about cutting out sugar out of my endless cups of tea but I can’t cut out the chocolate.  I’m trying to eat more red meat in case I’m anaemic and I’m trying not to force myself into situations I don’t enjoy.  I used to revel in getting stuff done; fitting in 5 meetings in two days with looking after a child, finishing an assignment at 11pm the night before it was due and going out for dinner with a friend the next day. Easy.
Being busy made me feel useful and it did achieve a lot.  But a lot of what?

Last night I dreamt I was caught in a bushfire and was actually part of the fire-fighting team, but I had the wrong shoes on.  I’d set off to fight the fire without them on and only realised as the buses were about to take us to the fire front.  I ran back to my tent to get them but got lost, not even remembering what I was looking for anymore.  Before that I was trying to shower in a dark mouldy bathroom and the shower curtain was slimy and huge and kept trying to stick to my face and suffocate me.  A psychologist would no doubt have a field day with these.

The last 2 days have featured some beautiful clear spans of energy and I don’t want to hope that it might continue because the thought of the fatigue returning 100% fills me with dread.  I still struggle to stand up from a crouch and hold my arms up to hang washing.  But both today and yesterday I felt for decent chunks of time that I could do it.  It’s unbelievably wonderful to wake up not completely exhausted with my arms stinging and humming with a used, lactic acid feeling.

My energy dipped in the middle of the day today.  ‘Oh, it’s gone again’ I thought, feeling so sad.  Perhaps I’m on a path that I wanted to walk down but was afraid and perhaps my body is taking me there now.  It’s had enough of listening to me whinge about what I want to do or should be doing and it’s just trying to take me there.  Change feels like fear when you first experience it, they say, and I’m afraid.
index

One thought on “Yesterday I got angry…

Leave a Reply

