A cure for the cure for the cure

I neglected to mention in my previous post what the treatment was for the arsenic poisoning and its side effects.  I’m now taking 2 Natrum Phosphate tablets 3 times a day, also known as tissue salts I think, to combat  acidity in the gut and also 5 drops, 4 times a day of Nux Vomica – also known as strychnine!  The idea is homeopathic and that in small amounts it will encourage my body to recognise arsenic as an invader and attack and remove it.  Once I get to a week I can begin the liver tonic and vitamins again which I hope will set me back on the right track.

Last night, having finished reading Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert (which I enjoyed right up to the part she became smugly content) I picked up my borrowed copy of The Sweet Poison Quit Plan by David Gillespie. I  found myself so tired but unable to stop reading where before I had been turned off this book.  Firstly I love the fact it’s Australian and references brands I know!  In my health research I have come across so many American websites detailing what not to eat and its like reading a foreign language… pepperidge farm, chicken of the sea??  Nothing against the yanks but we all need culture specific and even region specific advice based on healthy options NEAR where you live.  In early times (yeah NOT Palaeolithic times) you ate what you grew nearby and your body was adapted to the local foods, toxins and stimulants after years of evolution.  Now, our fruits and vegetables can be better travelled than we are!

Anyway, that’s a long-winded way of saying I think I’ve also been inadvertantly de-toxing from sugar since this all happened.  Have you ever eaten chocolate when you have a sour taste in your mouth?  Ugh! It spoils it forever!  It’s like sucking on dusty old bitter caramel. At the moment I still can’t taste foods correctly – I hope the Nat Phos corrects that – so I’m eating quite bland things, porridge with Greek yoghurt, chicken and green leaf salad, salmon and veg.  No sugar in my coffee and not a hint of sweet anywhere.

Ive also been wondering why when I lie on my side at night I find it uncomfortable on my hip and been considering removing my electric blanket (which I stopped using when I got hives) but it dawned on me that it’s not the bed that needs more padding but the hip that has probably lost some padding.  I have not been weighing myself but I’ve noticed my tummy shrink a bit – a clear sign of sugar intake is a padded wobbly tummy.

I don’t think any of this is bad now I’ve read Gillespies book which draws links between sugar intake and disease.  And for the moment I’m not missing it anyway.  It’ll be interesting to see what happens when my taste returns properly.

I really hope this is the beginning of the end to all this unhealthiness, but I also don’t want to rely on that. Over 8 months of struggle just isn’t likely to ease off overnight anymore.  Something I need to promise myself is if this situation doesn’t change soon, I need to return to my GP and get another opinion. Two weeks of a bad taste in my mouth seems like something they might be interested in, although I can a imagine the response ‘yes, you’ll get better, eventually’.

2 thoughts on “A cure for the cure for the cure

  1. escharae says:

    Totally agree with eating foods that are more common around where we live, and also eating them in the right season. I kind of get depressed when I realize my food has seen more of the world than me. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

