The fault in our Cinnamon

And there it was, quite obviously in front of me all that time.  You know how the iPhones  create index pages of Safari browsers so you can keep them loaded whilst browsing on another (maybe you don’t?).  Sometimes they get so ridiculously stacked up with TED talks and links that I want to read, that I just go through and close them all and try not to  feel guilty.

But, there has been one link I’ve kept for a few months now, that survived each cull, because it was the one page that described all the symptoms I’ve had and how I was feeling in a long post, without a hint of judgement.  I’ve linked to it here – it’s called Beaming with Health and beware it uses the dreaded term chronic fatigue!

However, something drew me to look at it again today and check out the rest of the site, and see what I’ve never noticed before.  It’s Australian!  It’s run by a naturopath and it features recipes for healthy food.  I’m so glad I looked.

The first recipe I am going to try tomorrow is the banana pancake because I have missed them so much since I had to give up dairy and I can easily switch out the butter for coconut oil in this one.  Yippee!

It got me thinking again though about the spice market in Penang and how passionate our guide was about food.  Did you know that all cinnamon is not created equal?  A bark called Cassia is often replaced for ‘true cinnamon’ and he was adamant it’s not as good for us as the true one known as ceylon cinnamon.  He gave us samples of both and the true cinnamon was a much softer fragrance than the cassia which was quite overwhelming.

Since this recipe features cinnamon I decided to see what I had in my cupboard – expecting the worst.  My Coles home brand bottle lists it’s ingredients as ‘cinnamon’ -thanks for that Coles – but online describes it as “dried, clean bark of Cinnamomum bumanii Blume”.  Still none the wiser I thought I’d question the guides advice to see if I could find support for his claim that one was not as beneficial for you.  A quick online search reveals countless useless websites describing how good cinnamon is for you – but no mention of the different types.

Back on the recently re-discovered Beaming with Health website, Mim lists her favourite as Cinnamomum zeylanicum – another different type?

Finally I found the information I need, on a strangely named site called Cinnamon Vogue.  Check the link here.  The answer?  Coles brand Bumanii is Indonesian cinnamon – the Cassia, which contains high levels of coumarin known to be toxic to your liver and currently listed as recommended not to be added to foods.

Zeylanicum (also using the name Verum) is the ceylon cinnamon and guess what?  It’s more expensive to make, better for you and non-toxic, also claiming to aid digestion, upset stomachs, guard against infection and regulate blood sugar levels.  I found it online to buy from an Australian importer for $10.30 for 250gms as opposed to Coles 36g bottle costing around $2, so it’s not ‘break the bank’ more expensive.  I just have to think about how much I’ll use and if I need 250gms right now.

Either way, I’ll be switching out the cinnamon tomorrow for the shredded coconut because even though it looks as though I’d have to consume a lot of it to make me sick, when you add up all the little extras toxins I am potentially placing into my body with these substances I have previously been none the wiser about, I’d prefer to do as best by myself as I can.

Leave a Reply

