In-som-ne-yaaaa

The new GP last week said to me, rather obviously I thought, you need to get more sleep. And then prescribed Circadin – a hormone called melatonin that your body naturally produces when you’re asleep. The theory being, supplementation tricks your body into going to sleep.

Well, in the last week I don’t think my insomnia could be any worse! The tablet makes me drowsy and I nod off quicker but that’s about the only positive thing I can say about it. I’m finding I wake up very early morning now – around 1-1:30 and can’t get back to sleep (it’s currently 3:15am) for a while. I usually need to visit the loo where as before I could last till morning and I also am feeling hungry when I wake up with a slight headache.

When it really bothers me is when I have things to do – like tomorrow, hey it’s my birthday – and now I’m fairly sure to start the day already knackered.  Or when the racing thoughts begin and I spend the night with my devils nipping at my mind.  It really is unfair. I’ll keep taking the Circadin for another week and see if this continues. This week has been one of mental exertion too and lots of ‘stuff’ on my mind, so perhaps that’s the cause. I read somewhere recently (probably on one of your blogs) that insomnia is not a primary cause of lack of sleep; insomnia is not the thing that stops you sleeping; insomnia is a secondary symptom to another cause like stress, illness, hormonal imbalance, disease.

Bah! That’s all I can say. One moment at a time. I just wish I wasn’t awake for this one.

 

9 thoughts on “In-som-ne-yaaaa

  1. seasonal affective disorder site says:

    I’ve always struggled with insomnia and my circadian rhythms. If like me you’re able to work then a sunrise simulator and some light therapy in the morning might help. Meditation and or a meditation/hpnotherapy CD through a speaker pillow is great. If like some folks I know who suffer from chronic fatigue you are not well enough to work then I suggest getting up at the same time each morning to open your curtains and trying to be in the light during day light hours as much as possible. The meditation is also worth a try but don’t push yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. CJ says:

    Thanks for your comment. That’s an interesting question to consider…am I able to work? Not a full time job anymore no, however I am able to work from home so I work the equivalent of 2 days a week at the moment. I don’t like to think of myself as not able to work, but more making the choice to work when I can! I didn’t realise this until you posed the question.
    But also I’m up early in the day because of my daughter. It will be interesting to see what develops with this melatonin.

    Like

    • seasonal affective disorder site says:

      If your CFS is at that point you really need to look after yourself. Melatonin is a hormone. It aids sleep and it’s production is affected by light. CFS seems to be autoimmune and to affect hormones. If I were you I would use light in the morning but not as much as a SAD suffer so perhaps use a SAD light while getting breakfast etc with your daughter but maybe a meter or more from you both rather than 50cm as you would for SAD. If your daughter enjoys stories you could try a guided meditation together. There are scripts on line things like imagining yourself on a beach or in a secret garden. If it works well for you you could buy a guided meditation CD and make it part of your bedtime routine. My friend who cannot work due to her CFS gets less than 6 hours sleep a day and it’s in lots of small naps.

      Like

      • CJ says:

        6 hours of sleep during the day as well as at night or only 6 hours in total? I gave up the circadian after a week, it made me feel terrible and interrupted my sleep! The opposite of what I was going for!

        Like

  3. escharae says:

    Happy birthday, CJ! 🙂
    I haven’t been sleeping either. And I’m all out of resources by now, so I don’t really know what to do. I’m just hoping it will get better when I’m less stressed out.

    Liked by 2 people

    • CJ says:

      Sleep is such a key to it all isn’t it? I gave up the Circadin because it was making my sleep worse! But you have to take notice of the insomnia because I believe it does mean something… something needs to change, be acknowledged, dealt with?

      Liked by 1 person

      • escharae says:

        Oh yes, sleep influences everything in my life. I hate it when people dismiss its significance by saying something like “have you tried chamomile tea?”
        I had a really terrible month of January, so it definitely has something to do with it, but yes, something needs to change, and it’s the way I deal with the hardships.

        Like

    • seasonal affective disorder site says:

      She gets about 6 hours in total. She has a lot of chronic pain. At night she has a lights off rule and accepts that she will lie awake for most of the time but that so long as she is resting it has some benefit. One of the interesting things she told me is what counts as rest. Reading a book that has her engaged is not rest. A quiet book she’s read before is (often as an audio book). Watching TV is not rest. Through out the day she uses a timer 20 min of doing something followed by 40 minutes of rest. The more she rests during the day the less she naps and the more of her 6 hours is at night. She is an extreme example but accepting that night time might be resting rather than sleeping and understanding what counts as rest would help anyone with CFS.

      Like

      • CJ says:

        Yeah that’s tough. One thing I have been grateful for is that occasionally I can sleep for hours and hours. And the only reason I’m grateful is that I assume I would feel worse if I didn’t get that. Because I don’t feel refreshed when I wake up from sleeping hours. In fact often I just feel the same regardless of if I’ve slept or not but I have to think it’s doing some good

        Like

Leave a Reply

