Dismissing

I dismissed a year of struggle today, chatting to another mum on the kindy pickup about jobs.  Mostly when I mention that I work from home people nod approvingly especially when they’ve got kids because they know it affords you flexibility. She asked how I managed it and I said ‘last year I got a virus and I struggled to recover well and I found working from home better.’

Done. Just like that and we moved onto other things.  I gotta say, it felt good.

To pretend it was less important than it feels, to not have to explain that part of my life and to not feel like I have to look sick so that the person I’m telling didn’t get that ‘but you look fine’ squint.

Im not sure it’s a healthy thing to do but it felt good so it can’t be all bad, can it?

Leave a Reply

