What’s your unwell?

This’ll be a quick update – I’m having trouble with wooziness in the head and looking at computer screens doesn’t help.  I expected that after a week of training, long days in a classroom environment, hotel room beds, changed diet and meeting new people I would have some repercussions but I fully expected fatigue not dizziness.

It started with the lifts at the office building, which is why I’m not completely freaked out by this, every time I went down in the lift for coffee I felt dizzy.  It was one of those super sonic lifts that lurches into action with a rollercoaster style stomach drop.   I only felt dizzy after the lifts and the feeling passed within 10 minutes.  However, since the flight home on Friday night, I’ve had fairly constant wooziness, like I’m standing on a boat and it’s pitching underneath me.

I don’t have any blurred vision and I haven’t fallen over but if I had to walk in the dark I am sure I would.  I’ve got backaches, neck-aches, tummy-aches and head-aches and concern is very much on my mind (pardon the pun).

Mostly I’m annoyed.  I wanted to have to deal with something I expected and new what to do with.  This is something new, something potentially serious, something stopping me from continuing my plans I had previously and getting started in my new job which I was excited to do.  But isn’t that how all this illness has been?  Nothing has ever been what I thought or what I expected.

This morning my daughter asked me ‘What’s your unwell?  She’s had blocked ears since a throat infection and we were discussing if we should go to her doctor to get them looked at.  She asked ‘Do you remember when you were so tired and couldn’t play Mummy?’  Yes I do I answered, and I’m not that bad any longer.  But this new experience is a bad one and I’d like it to pass now, because it will.  Maybe I’ll have to stop the new medication and go back to the one that worked better, maybe I’ll have to keep trying, maybe I’ll now be dizzy forever.  Nothing would surprise me at this stage.  I don’t know what my unwell is.

5 thoughts on “What’s your unwell?

  1. Claire says:

    Oh no – I had the exact same symptoms, like you’re on a boat and it’s extremely unsettling. Movement seems to help, and it gets more noticeable when you stand or lie still. I thought I was going crazy when it happened to me.

    It could be mal de debarqument – this can be triggered by boat/train/air travel. Not much is known about it, but they think it’s the brain getting confused from messages from the eyes and inner ear that didn’t quite match while you were traveling. There are no tests for mal de debarqument.

    It could also be dysautonomia – POTS or NMH maybe. This is essentially periods of low blood pressure that make you feel dizzy. It happens in lifts, going up stairs, standing up, after a shock, or sudden emotional response. This also makes you really tired as your body is coping with extra stress. There are tests for POTS and NMH, and they can be treated to a certain extent.

    I have both, and the doctors think they are interlinked. I can’t go on a boat without feeling “boaty” for a week afterwards – they also think the reaction is worse when I am fatigued. Fatigue and deconditioning also exacerbates dysautonomia.

    I hope you get it figured out – new symptoms are disconcerting. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • CJ says:

      Hmm that’s a lot to think about. All of those things sound quite tough for you to deal with. Back in 2009 I went on a cruise and had the same feeling for a week afterwards, so I think I wrote this off as the same this time. My GP wrote it off as a ‘virus’, I hope it doesn’t happen again because it’s really hard to manage. But if it does, I will get it looked into. How long did it take you to get these diagnoses? Can you point me in the direction of a blog post!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Claire says:

        You totally have mal de debarquement! I went on an overnight ferry, and felt dizzy and boaty for a week – my parents just wrote it off as me being weird, and then it happened again and again, every time I went on a boat. So finally I went to a doctor with it, and she said it might be mal de debarquement. There is nothing you can do to stop it, except avoid your triggers.
        A really scary thing – in some people (mostly women over 45) the symptoms stay, and don’t wear off. They just feel boaty all the time, unless they are on a train or a boat. So now I keep train rides to a few hours (not overnight), and only go on short trips on boats that are on smooth rivers – no rocking waves at all ever!
        There is very little information out there, and many doctors aren’t familiar with it. Some people think it isn’t real, but a complication of something else like dysautonomia, or that illness where your inner ear goes crazy – so get those checked out!!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

